The Art of Living

We are not taught how to live.  In school, at home,among our friends, we are taught how to deal with failure, and how to work hard regardless.  Who among us were properly taught, though, how to go home at the end of the day?  Who here was taught how to live?

I’m happy to say that my religion has helped teach me how to properly live.  I can’t say I’ve figured out all the answers – I haven’t – but after literally two decades of asking and listening, I’ve figured out all the questions.

I want to share with you all how to go home at the end of the day.  How I enjoy my husband, after almost thirteen years of blissful marriage.  It’s not forty years plus, but after all the divorce I’ve seen, I feel plenty spoiled.  And I’ve never been so in love.

I want to share with you about how my children are my best friends, and how they’ve become some of the most amazing human beings I’ve ever met.  But the point is the how, not the debate of how biased I might be. 😉

I want to discuss with you all the art of living, with all its up and downs.  Not how to go to work each day – one of the few things we’re all taught growing up – but how to smile while you’re there, and still go home at the end of the day and love it.  Not how to constantly pick up after our children, nor how to have them do it themselves, but how to make your house a home.  How to make your life a daily practice of gratitude and love.

And forgive me if I lace it throughout with amazing lyrics from phenomenal songs.  Because what better guides us than the muses of music.  I will try always to give credit where credit is due, though.

Now, today, your life is happening.  It has not stopped due to hard days, long nights, challenging goals, or overwhelming odds.  Your loved ones have not stopped expecting your attention despite your busy-ness.  Your children have not stopped wanting your cuddles even though you’re reading this instead of tucking them in right now.

I want to help aim you to those gaps in your life that you have gotten used to stepping over, and help you seal them so they never leak again.  Just know that I’ve learned the answers to this by having my own gaps, or seeping through those of others.

I love you.  I know you can be amazing.  And not least of all, I know this because once I thought I was boring, useless, unloved, and incapable.  Now I know I’m not.  And I want to share that, with everyone.

Let’s see if I can help.

One thought on “The Art of Living”

Leave a Reply

